Travis County Healthcare District
Travis County Healthcare ImageTravis County Healthcare trees

» Planning & Data » 1115 Waiver

1115 Waiver

Please visit our new dedicated 1115 Waiver site at

Transforming Health Care Delivery in Our Regional Healthcare Partnership
DSRIP Project Highlights of the Medicaid 1115 Waiver

Tuesday, February 18th
10:00 a.m. to Noon
Central Health Board Room
1111 East Cesar Chavez
Austin, Texas 78702

Please join us for a panel presentation of providers who are transforming health care in our six-county region.

The moderated panel discussion will include summaries of many initiatives that are underway to increase access to care for our most vulnerable population. Learn how health care delivery is changing in our regional partnership and hear from the providers who are leading the change.

The public, including those who are served by these projects, is encouraged to attend. The panel will be moderated by Becca Aaronson, Health Care & Data Reporter with the Texas Tribune.

Please contact Darlene Lanham with any questions and to RSVP - 512.978.8860. 

 In December 2011, the federal government’s Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) approved Texas’ application for a Section 1115 Waiver – allowing Texas to conduct demonstration projects with Medicaid and Medicare funds that would otherwise conflict with provisions of the Social Security Act. This 1115 Waiver, as it’s called, does two things:

1.        Expands existing Medicaid managed programs statewide, and
2.        Establishes two federal funding pools to (a) help providers cover the costs of uncompensated care and (b) promote health system transformation.

The Waiver will be in effect through September 30, 2016.

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) has asked local government entities and public hospitals to anchor Regional Health Partnerships (RHPs) that will be comprised of public and private hospitals and participating providers. These RHPs will each write a regional plan that will identify and address areas for improvement and innovation in the health care delivery system.

HHSC has identified Central Health as the anchor of a region in Central Texas. This region will include Bastrop, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee and Travis Counties. In its role as anchor, Central Health will be responsible for certain administrative tasks, including holding meetings, collecting and reporting data, and liaising with HHSC.

On behalf of all of the region’s partners, Central Health submitted an updated version the RHP7 Plan to HHSC on March 11th. You can read the revised plan HERE.

Please browse the website and if you have any questions or comments, you may contact Sarah Cook, 512-978-8195.